Restaurant Risks!

Yo, happy Thursday. I hope your day is as bright and shinin’ as mine is. If it’s not, I am sincerely sorry and I wish you a better tomorrow. 
Today I would like to discuss one of my favorite topics: Dining out!
Who doesn’t love going out on the town with friends, having a nice family dinner outing, or even just stopping at Subway for a quick lunch break? With our society nowadays, it’s not always easy to find the healthiest choices on a menu. BUT that does NOT mean there aren’t plenty of healthy options. 
The key is preparation. Whenever I go out to eat, I like to check out the place’s menu beforehand so I am not stressed when everyone else is ordering and I have no idea what I’m getting. Lots of restaurants have their nutrition facts either on their menu or available upon request. Take advantage of that. If you don’t know if what you’re ordering is reasonable calorie-wise, ask! Your waiter or waitress will (God-willing) be happy to help you out.
I’d like to use last night as one of my examples. I had a 15 hour day, from work to babysitting to youth group I had difficulty finding time for meals! I stopped at Chipotle for dinner to-go. I briefly googled the healthiest options there, although from experience and common sense, I had a pretty good idea of what to order. I ended up getting a salad with lettuce, black beans, chicken, corn, tomatoes and a teensy bit of guac on the side. Easy peasy lemon squeasy. 
NOW! If you find yourself at a place that you haven’t been able to research before for whatever reason, no problem. That doesn’t mean you have to/is an excuse for getting the most caloric item on the menu ’cause you “didn’t know”. Stop that, you. 
BJ’s salmon garden salad
I have a good example for this too. Like I said, yesterday I was not home all day, so I met my mom for lunch at BJ’s. I had difficulty finding the best choice on menu and had to tell our waiter twice to come back so I had time to decide. I ordered a garden salad with blackened salmon and vinaigrette on the side. It was delicious and I was absolutely satisfied. 
I hope this helps!!! xoxolauren
P.S. Check out my “Make Healthy a Habit” page for links to popular restaurant nutrition facts!
:)

I'd love to hear from you!

